"Leaving Accident Scene, N.J.S.A. 39:4-129"
Leaving accident scene, N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 is a serious offense especially if there are personal injuries involved.
Additionally, enhanced penalties apply if it is the defendant's second or subsequent offense.
If an accident in Woodbridge, New Jersey for example, involved only property damage then 2 points are associated with this offense, up to 30 days in jail and 6 months loss of license.
For a second offense defendant is subject to 30-90 days in jail and up to 1 year loss of license.
If an accident in East Brunswick, New Jersey for example, involved personal injury which is broadly defined as "any unpleasant sensation," the consequences are much more severe and a case that results in "serious bodily injury" may even constitute a fourth degree crime which is an indictable charge.
A first offense of leaving the scene of an accident in Edison, New Jersey for example, with personal injury to another driver carries up to $1000 fine, 6 months in jail and 1 year loss of license.
A second or subsequent conviction carries up to $2000 fine, 6 months in jail and permanent loss of license.
Leaving the scene of an accident with personal injury carries
8 motor vehicle and 8 insurance points.
Statute of Limitations
Statute of limitation on charges to be brought is 1 year from the date of the alleged offense.
Strategy In Court
New Jersey traffic attorney either obtains a dismissal of the charge or a downgrade to failure to report an accident N.J.S.A. 39:4-130 - a non point violation with only a fine.
If you have any questions about a leaving accident scene charge, click here to contact a NJ Traffic Lawyer.