"New Jersey Point System"
New Jersey Point System
may pose a difficulty to a driver for the following two reasons:
1. Motor Vehicle Points - Motor Vehicle Commission charges state surcharges and revokes licenses for accumulation of too many points.
2. Insurance Points - Insurance companies raise premiums for accumulation of points.
Motor Vehicle Points
Under New Jersey Point system, points are assessed against a defendant's driving record for moving violations as a result of a conviction in municipal courts such as East Brunswick, New Jersey, for example.
A driver who accumulates 12 or more points within a two year period or 15 or more points in more than a two year period will have his or her license suspended for thirty days by the State.
A driver who accumulates between 12-15 points in more than two years may avoid a suspension by attending an approved driver improvement course.
However, a violation within one year of taking the course will trigger a 45 day suspension and 90 days for a second violation within the same time period.
Drivers are afforded due process - right to a notice of a hearing and an actual hearing - before an Administrative Law Judge of the State of New Jersey upon notice of a pending suspension.
Additionally, drivers who accumulate six or more points are charged surcharges by the State of New Jersey.
Every insured must check their own insurance company policy on raising premiums for accumulation of points but generally insurance companies increase their premiums between $100 to $200 per year for three years for each point accumulated on a driver's license record.
For example, if an individual is convicted of a four point speeding ticket or pleads guilty to one then he or she can expect an insurance increase of approximately $1,200.00 to $2,400.00 over the next three years.
Did You Know
If you fail to pay a fine for a traffic violation occurring in another state New Jersey will suspend your driving privilege unless the ticket was issued in a state like Alaska, California or Hawaii.
New Jersey drivers procure two points on their New Jersey license for each out of state traffic conviction.
Three points are eliminated from a driver's record every year that a driver is offense free.
In addition, two points may be eliminated by enrolling into a defensive driving course.
However, Motor Vehicle Commission allows reduction of two points after enrolling in a defensive driving course only once every five years.
If you have any questions about the New Jersey point system, click here to contact a NJ traffic lawyer.