New Jersey Underage Alcohol Possession Law
We represent clients charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15; New Jersey underage alcohol possession complaints in central New Jersey municipalities including New Brunswick.
A person under legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, place of public assembly or motor vehicle is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.
Legal age to purchase alcohol is twenty one.
Public means any place to which the public or a substantial group has access.
There is a minimum fine for this offense of $500 and imprisonment of up to six months.
If the offense is committed in a motor vehicle suspension of driving privileges for six months is mandatory.
The court may also require defendant to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program.
The state must prove five elements.
First, defendant was under legal age to purchase alcohol.
Second, defendant possessed or consumed alcohol.
Third, defendant did so in any school, public conveyance, place, assembly or motor vehicle.
Fourth, possession was without legal authority.
Fifth, possession or consumption was done knowingly.
Parent or guardian of a person under 18 must be notified of a conviction.
Upon a subsequent conviction of a defendant under 18 the person who has legal custody is subject to a $500 fine if it is proven that this person failed or neglected to exercise reasonable supervision or control over the conduct of the person under 18 years of age.
If you have any questions for a New Jersey criminal defense lawyer about a New Jersey underage alcohol possession charge, please do not hesitate to contact us.