Driving with Touring Privileges N.J.S.A. 39:3-17 establishes that drivers with driving credentials from a state other than New Jersey must present them to the police pursuant to a routine motor vehicle stop in Monroe, New Jersey, for example.
A non resident is only required to present an out of state license and registration.
Note that a non resident driving his or her own vehicle does not have to present an insurance card because there is no requirement in New Jersey to show proof of insurance on a vehicle that is not registered or principally garaged in New Jersey.
A conviction of this charge carries a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail although courts do not impose a jail sentence for violation of this statute.
Police also issue a summons under N.J.S.A. 39:3-17.1 to drivers who no longer live out of state yet fail to obtain a New Jersey driver's license within 60 days of moving to New Jersey.
New Jersey Traffic attorney helps clients avoid a third conviction under this statute because then police are authorized to tow away the driver's vehicle upon such a conviction.
If you have further questions about expired touring privileges charge, click here to contact NJ Traffic Lawyer.