"Failure to Exhibit License, Registration or Insurance"
Failure to Exhibit License, Registration or Insurance N.J.S.A. 39:3-29 establishes that whenever a driver is operating a motor vehicle on New Jersey roads, a driver's license, registration and insurance card must be in the possession of the driver at all times.
Failure to produce a license, insurance or registration is one of the most common violations committed by drivers each day and is frequently charged as a result of a routine motor vehicle stop in North Brunswick, New Jersey, for example.
If the defendant produces the credentials at court the Judge may dismiss the charge but still impose court costs of $33.
A conviction of this charge carries a fine up to $200 with no other collateral consequences such as points, loss of license, community service or jail.
If you have further questions about a failure to exhibit charge, click here to contact a New Jersey Traffic Lawyer.