"Blood Alcohol Content"
BAC is an acronym for Blood Alcohol Content.
Any driver over the age of 21 may drive with a BAC under .08 although the police may still charge the driver with drunk driving if they subjectively - one sidedly - determine that the driver's ability to drive is impaired.
Such a drunk driving conviction, however, results in three months loss of license instead of seven months to a year.
Also, a conviction of driving through a City like New Brunswick, New Jersey let's just say, with a BAC of .08 or .09 results in three months loss of license.
Any conviction of driving with a BAC over .10 is 7 months to 1 year loss of license for a first offense.
For an average adult male, to accumulate a BAC of .08 means an average of four drinks within an average time of one to two hour period.
An average female would require less than that to achieve the same level of intoxication.
Although it should be noted that the amount of alcohol one can consume and still be able to drive varies with each person.
It does not only depend on gender; it also depends on body metabolism, food consumption, mental and physical health - for example: depressed, agitated, taking medication - and the amount of time over which the alcohol is consumed.
This is an overview of penalties for driving with a high blood alcohol content.
Would you like to discuss a BAC reading with a New Jersey DWI lawyer?