"U-Turn, N.J.S.A. 39:4-125"
Defendant is guilty of an improper U-Turn ticket in Highland Park, New Jersey, for example, if he or she turns the vehicle around to proceed in the opposite direction in an area with an obstructed view within 500 feet of the vehicle or if he or she make the turn in an area explicitly prohibited by a sign.
Defendants are assessed
three motor vehicle and three insurance points
for this violation.
New Jersey Traffic Attorney investigates with the New Jersey Department of Transportation whether the sign was properly authorized.
A good alternative plea is pleading guilty to obstructing traffic N.J.S.A 39:4-67.
If the prosecutor does not grant that request then unsafe driving N.J.S.A 39:4-97.2 should be considered, although it should be noted that unsafe driving carries an approximate fine of $400.
Additionally, four points are assessed on one's driving record for a third unsafe driving conviction within five years of a second unsafe driving conviction.
If you have any questions about U-turn violations, click here to contact a NJ Traffic Lawyer.